President Duterte honors athletes who competed in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics and secured an Olympic medal for the Philippines


President Rodrigo Roa Duterte leads the awarding of incentives to Philippine Olympians in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics and other Filipino athletes at the Rizal Hall in Malacañan Palace on August 23, 2021.


According to Republic Act No. 10699, or the National Athletes and Coaches Benefits and Incentives Act, athletes who won gold medals in either the Summer or Winter Olympic Games are entitled to PhP10 million cash incentive, while silver and bronze medalists shall receive PhP5 million and PhP2 million, respectively.

In the recently concluded Tokyo 2020 Olympics, the Philippines bagged four (4) medals – the country’s best performance since joining the Olympics in 1924.




Hidilyn Diaz secured the country’s first ever gold medal in the women’s 55 kilogram weightlifting competition, while the Philippine Boxing Team brought home three (3) medals, with Carlo Paalam and Nesthy Petecio bagging silver medals in the men’s flyweight and women’s featherweight divisions, and Eumir Marcial winning the bronze medal at the men’s middleweight division.

Likewise, President Duterte gives a special award to Mansueto ‘Onyok’ Velasco, Jr., silver medalist for boxing in the 1996 Summer Olympics.  Also present to receive their awards are Olympic shooter Jayson Valdez and weightlifter Elreen Ann Ando. (PSC)