50 Years to Rejoice, 7 Excellent Doctors to Celebrate, 1 Unifying Event


Cebu Doctors Group (CDG) is back in the limelight after two years to commemorate its 50th-year celebration and to honor the second wave of the exemplary group of doctors through the CDG Anniversary Gala and CebuDoc Group Excellence (CDGE) Awards.

After two years of hiatus to pave way for the COVID-19 restrictions, the CebuDoc Group has once again hosted an evening of elegance to honor the excellence, hard work, and prominence of each of the institution’s most esteemed assets, its medical staff.

The CDG Gala and CDGE Awards night has been graced with the presence of numerous pronounced individuals not just in Cebu City but in the entire region whose contributions has backboned the hospital’s operations not just in terms of patient care but also in bridging the most accessible healthcare in different sectors.

The highlight of the evening is the awarding ceremony of the group of doctors who stood out among the rest and showed remarkable leadership, excellence, innovation, and loyalty, and contributed most to corporate social responsibility.

At least six out of the seven hospitals have nominated several practicing physicians for the OrmocDoc Excellence Award; SouthGen Excellence Award; San Carlos Excellence Award; NorthGen Excellence Award; Mactan Doc Excellence Award, and CebuDoc Excellence Award.


For this year, the awardees were;

·        Doctor Chunitu Yu for OrmocDoc Excellence Award

·        Doctor Wilson Dela Calzada for SouthGen Excellence Award

·        Doctor Edgar Divinagracia for San Carlos Doc Excellence Award

·        Doctor Maria Janet Portia for NorthGen Excellence Award

·        Doctor Pura Dominguito for Mactan Doc Excellence Award

·        Doctor Merle Barba for CebuDoc Excellence Award

The awardees went through layers of deliberation with the CDGE Awards selection panel, which stemmed from the factors of their practice from their colleagues, staff, and their body of work.

Apart from these, one honorary physician will be awarded the Dr. Potenciano V. Larrazabal Jr., Lifetime Achievement Award whose medical practice has imprinted a legacy in the hospital, mirroring that of the late Doctor PVL Jr., founding President and Chairman of the institution.

For this year, the recipient is no less than Doctor Generosa Sollano, a respected Pediatrician who spent her practice in CebuDoc for most of her medical practice.

To Doctor Potenciano Larrazabal III, President, and Chairman of the CebuDoc Group, these recognitions portray how each of the hospitals of CDG has taken notice of the exceptional and sincere service every employee has rendered.


“It is our living philosophy that above all, we must be compassionate healthcare providers. This is a reflection that throughout, we are paying close attention to each of our teammates, and their dedication is not being put to waste,” the Chairman said.

“Here in the CebuDoc group, we do not just encourage them to anchor their practice to our values, but we honor them when it exudes with them unknowingly,” he added.

Further, the event was filled with fun and fellowship in which the chairman, Doctor Larrazabal III, emphasized that everyone deserves adding that the Golden Jubilee celebration is worth rejoicing for.


He concluded, that onwards, the event will be one of the most anticipated evenings that our medical staff will be pushed and motivated to look forward to every year.

“This will be the event that shows we are one with our mission, vision, and most of all our values. This is a representation of our harmony that if we enliven these factors, we are one, just like what my Dad would have wanted,” he said.